Interactive Multimedia Coding Assignment – Post (Prototyping)

Sound.

Adding sound was very straight forward. I wanted the user to be able to play a sound from the Media:Sound graphic that uses addChild to be added on stage when they select a button assigned to Media:Sound.

The user is able to play, pause, stop and change the volume of the sound clip. The only issue I had for adding the sound was setting up the volume slider. It wasn’t overly difficult but I had never done it before. I followed a tutorial (11) in the AS book that I had done previously. It was straight forward. There is a preset slider, i just put this over my graphic and changed the slider icon to a black circle.

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 15.59.47

Video

I decided to keep my file storage small that I would load my videos via youtube into my program. This seemed to cause me a bit of an issue. Setting up the functions of play, pause,stop etc was fine and originally it worked. But after putting in all of the videos in the program a sandbox error kept displaying in the output window. Sometimes when this would show the videos would still work and sometimes it just displayed like below:

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 16.58.33

I will have to speak to Ken about this next week.

Images

For the images I tried to set up an XML file to load the images in but I couldn’t get this to work. Instead I decided to do it like the tutorial in the AS book. This worked out really well for me and I think aesthetically it looks great.

Reference:

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 17.02.27

 

All Media content was sourced from the internet.

Leave a Reply

