Interactive Multimedia Coding Assignment – Post (Prototyping)

Autumn Mini Game

The autumn mini game is a quiz based on aspects of autumn. I had no idea how I would do this. Originally I though of having a true or false quiz. I couldn’t find any good examples of this online as I had no idea and really needed help.

I first found this example online of a quiz on actionscript.org, a tutorial called “Create a Quiz Application Using AS3 Classes.” I tried to read through and understand this code. I was still very confused. Upon more research I found this tutorial,Tutorial on building an interactive quiz in Flash Actionscript 3 which was so helpful. It really explained everything in full. For my finished quiz I basically followed this tutorial and altered variables, event listeners names etc.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 20.18.28

This tutorial allowed me to create a quiz where the options are randomized and the questions are in a random order. I created an xml file with my quiz information in it. This is then loaded into the .fla file into an array. Below is my code, commented to explain what does what. This AS frame is connected to the following AS frame which generates what the user sees on screen and generates the questions in random order.

LOADING XML FILE

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 20.19.29

The code for the actual displaying/randomly generating parts of the quiz was easy. The code used in the tutorial is all code I was familiar/have seen before. At the same time I know I would not have been able to have structured it.

Leave a Reply

